Reasons to Stay Alive

My first post is about my most recent read which was ‘Reasons to Stay Alive’ by the very talented author Matt Haig. I purchased this book because for a few years now I have suffered with deep depression, anxiety and suicidal thoughts so I thought that this book may resonate with me, and maybe help with some of my struggles.

I know from experience that depression is a very hard concept to describe, especially to those who have never suffered with the illness. This book, for the most part, captures what living with depression is like perfectly, and explains it in such a brilliant way. A lot of the stories, emotions and self help tips matched my experiences with depression and this was an insightful, brilliant and easy read. One thing I really did enjoy within the book was the variety of chapters, and the different writing styles used. If every chapter was explaining depression it may have become boring but having chapters that gave reasons to stay alive, self help tips and inner dialogue kept the read refreshing throughout.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone suffering with depression, anyone who has a friend or family member suffering, or even if you just want to know more about the illness, and I’d have to give it a 9/10.

Leave a Reply

