Arrogance + Young Politics

I’ll start off by saying that I am in no way, shape, or form arrogant. Or at least I really don’t mean to be. And to be honest it’s sad when people label someone as being arrogant just because someone else has vast knowledge on a subject that perhaps they don’t themselves.

Right so to catch up with the story. Indirectly I have been called arrogant in the past few days by someone voicing my political views on Twitter. Now this doesn’t affect me too much. The person in question isn’t a person that I know too well, although what I do know doesn’t make me bothered about what he/she thinks. It’s fairly well known that this person in question lacks many morals, and to be honest I don’t think much of his/her opinion. However, it does grate on me the accusation itself.

As mentioned before on this blog I have for a long time suffered with depression, self harm and suicidal thoughts etc and to be honest I don’t think anyone hates me as much as I hate myself. I put myself down more than anyone else, I see the worst in me more than anyone else and to be honest most of the time I wish I wasn’t me.

Hardly the ingredients for arrogance.

It’s not the first time I’ve been called arrogant whatsoever; but typically it’s usually when the other person in question has been proven wrong. So as the evidence shows deep down I am not arrogant.

What annoys me most is that the people who throw such insults around are people who don’t know me well. They typically only know me through my tweets or through hearing me speak once or twice, nowhere near enough to form an opinion on my personality. These teenagers that criticise other teenagers for having political opinions are ridiculous.  These are the ones who still moan about the government, don’t vote in elections, know absolutely nothing and read newspaper headlines as facts yet moan at others for having such knowledge. The reason governments generally screw over the younger generations is because they don’t vote and think it’s uncool to get involved, which needs to change!

I think it also speaks buckets for the society we live in that someone is instantly labelled arrogant for having an opinion, voicing it and most of the time being right. Maybe if these people including he/she focused on morals, values and educating themselves on the world instead of drinking and other activities they may have the knowledge not to throw such insults around.

Leave a Reply

